A closer look at the 32 semifinal coaches

Marist coach Alan Chadwick (AJC File)

Here are some facts and figures about the 32 head coaches in tonight’s semifinals, with their high school and college alma maters below.

*Two semifinal coaches are Brookwood alumni. Those are Philip Jones of Brookwood and John Ford of Buford.

*Six are coaching at their alma maters, including Rabun County’s Lee Shaw and Brooks County’s Maurice Freeman, whose teams face each other tonight. The others are Jones, Clinch County’s Jim Dickerson, Tucker’s Bryan Lamar and St. Pius’ Paul Standard.

*Fifteen of the 32 coaches are not from Georgia. The longest away from home is Mary Persons’ Brian Nelson, who is from West Burlington, Iowa, about a 13-hour drive to Thomaston. (See the other 14 below.)

*Three are in their first seasons as head coaches at their schools. They are Buford’s Ford, North Gwinnett’s Bill Stewart and Mount Zion’s Brad Gordon. Twelve have been at their schools at least 10 seasons, headed by the 33-year tenure of Marist’s Alan Chadwick.

*Four went to West Georgia: Calhoun’s Hal Lamb, Heard County’s Tim Barron, Mount Zion’s Brad Gordon and Warner Robins’ Mike Chastain. Two went to The Citadel. They are St. Pius’ Standard and Eagle’s Landing Christian’s Jonathan Gess.

School Year Coach High school alma mater College alma mater
Athens Academy 3 Josh Alexander Morrow Georgia
Blessed Trinity 7 Tim McFarlin Milton Georgia College
Brooks County 10 Maurice Freeman Brooks County Florida A&M
Brookwood 3 Philip Jones Brookwood South Carolina
Buford 1 John Ford Brookwood Clemson
Calhoun 19 Hal Lamb Commerce West Georgia
Carver (Atlanta) 13 Darren Myles Douglass (New Orleans, La.) Purdue
Cedar Grove 5 Jermaine Smith Darlington (S.C.) Tennessee State
Clinch County 14 Jim Dickerson Clinch County Valdosta State
Coffee 6 Robby Pruitt Southside Christian (Gainesville, Fla.) Liberty University (Va.)
Colquitt County 10 Rush Propst Ohatchee (Ala.) Jacksonville State
Eagle’s Landing Christian 11 Jonathan Gess Clover (S.C.) Citadel
Emanuel County Institute 7 Chris Kearson Ware County Union College (Ky.)
Glynn Academy 4 Rocky Hidalgo Denham Springs (Baton Rouge, La.) Rhodes College (Miss.)
Greater Atlanta Christian 6 Tim Hardy Newton-Conover (N.C.) Wheaton (Ill.)
Hapeville Charter 7 Winston Gordon Clewiston (Fla.) Savannah State
Heard County 16 Tim Barron Pebblebrook West Georgia
Irwin County 4 Buddy Nobles Temple Christian (Jacksonville, Fla.) North Florida
Lee County 9 Dean Fabrizio Lake Howell (Winter Park, Fla.) Central Methodist (Mo.)
Marist 33 Alan Chadwick Decatur East Tennessee State
Mary Persons 6 Brian Nelson West Burlington (Iowa) Wartburg College (Ill.)
McEachern 10 Kyle Hockman Harrison (Cincinnati, Ohio) Bowling Green State (Ohio)
Mount Paran Christian 10 Mitch Jordan Darlington Georgia Tech
Mount Zion (Carroll) 1 Brad Gordon Central (Carroll) West Georgia
North Gwinnett 1 Bill Stewart Armwood (Seffner, Fla.) Central Florida
Peach County 11 Chad Campbell Hawkinsville Georgia Southwestern
Prince Avenue Christian 2 Greg Vandagriff Halls (Knoxville, Tenn.) Tennessee Wesleyan
Rabun County 6 Lee Shaw Rabun County Western Carolina
Rome 3 John Reid Warren Harding (Fort Wayne, Ind.) Ball State
St. Pius 17 Paul Standard St. Pius Citadel
Tucker 6 Bryan Lamar Tucker UTC
Warner Robins 2 Mike Chastain Northside (Warner Robins) West Georgia

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

View Comments 0