Best player in school history: Region 2-AA teams

Swainsboro’s Brandon Andrews (34) runs for big yardage in the fourth quarter of the 2000 Class AAA semifinal against Washington County to set up his touchdown. (Marlene Karas/AJC)

For a couple of former star players from current Region 2-AA schools, shadows might’ve gotten in the way of their great high school careers.

In 2000, Swainsboro RB Brandon Andrews rushed for 2,814 yards and won for his school its first state title. It happened the same year that Daccus Turman broke Herschel Walker’s single-season rushing record.

In 2004, Metter QB Zach Stanford completed his third all-state season and became the first Georgia quarterback to pass for 9,000 yards in his career (9,062). Stanford’s total still ranks fourth all-time in Georgia, though he might not retain the fame of those ahead of him – Deshaun Watson, Jake Fromm and Trevor Lawrence.

Andrews and Stanford remain legendary in their southeast Georgia communities, and their records remain at the top of Georgia’s leaderboard.

Here are our picks for the best players in history at the current 2-AA schools.

*Bacon County: Mike Taylor (1974)

*Benedictine: Andrew Provence (1978)

*Bryan County: Nick Scott (2013)

*Jeff Davis: Nate Hybl (1997)

*Metter: Zach Stanford (2004)

*Swainsboro: Brandon Andrews (2000)

*Toombs County: Nick Eason (1997)

*Vidalia: Johnny Taylor (1977)

Best player in school history series

Region 1-A teams
Region 2-A teams
Region 3-A teams
Region 4-A teams
Region 5-A teams
Region 6-A teams
Region 7-A teams
Region 8-A teams

Region 1-AA teams
Region 2-AA teams
Region 3-AA teams
Region 4-AA teams
Region 5-AA teams
Region 6-AA teams
Region 7-AA teams
Region 8-AA teams

Region 1-AAA teams
Region 2-AAA teams
Region 3-AAA teams
Region 4-AAA teams
Region 5-AAA teams

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

View Comments 0