All-region teams: Driver, Howard, Johnson earn top honors in 2-AAAA

Spalding linebacker Kelvin Johnson is a co-defensive player of the year. (247Sports)

Spalding linebacker Kelvin Johnson is a co-defensive player of the year. (247Sports)

Here is the all-region team for 2-AAAA, as voted by the league’s coaches:

Offensive player of the year: QB Naricuss Driver, Spalding, Sr.

Co-defensive players of the year: DE/LB Tre Howard, Mary Persons, Sr., and LB Kelvin Johnson, Spalding, Sr.

Athlete of the year: QB/DB Damion Bagley, Perry, Sr.

Scholar-athletes of the year: Ben Deal, West Laurens, Jr., Payton Moss, Perry, Jr.; and Daniel Allen, Howard, Sr.

Coach of the year: Brian Nelson, Mary Persons

First-team offense

QB – Kalen Puckett, Upson-Lee, Sr.

RB – Zach Harvey, Mary Persons, Sr.

RB – Darius Bradford, West Laurens, Sr.

WR – Jatori Sims, Mary Persons, Sr.

WR – Rasheed Marshall, Spalding, Sr.

OL – Caleb Etheridge, Mary Persons, Sr.

OL – Clark Daniel, Upson-Lee, Sr.

OL – Brontavis Harris, Upson-Lee, Jr.

OL – Joseph Horne, West Laurens, Jr.

OL – Chris Andrews, Spalding, Sr.

PK – Alexander Rivera, Mary Persons, Jr.

P – Caleb Christian, West Laurens, Sr.

First-team defense

DL – Malik Herring, Mary Persons, Sr.

DL – Dan O’Neal, Mary Persons, Sr.

DL – Abram Morrow, West Laurens, Jr.

DL – Shundrekas Smith, West Laurens, Sr.

LB – Doryan Gorham, West Laurens, Jr.

LB – Trayvon Walker, Upson-Lee, So.

LB – Deandre Shelton, Howard, So.

LB – Tay Jarrell, Mary Persons, Sr.

DB – Davis Daniel, Spalding, Sr.

DB – Tyricus Danielly, Mary Persons, Sr.

DB – Jatorian Hansford, Mary Persons, Jr.

DB – Je’corey Burks, Perry, Jr.

Second-team offense

QB – Caleb Speir, Mary Persons, Sr.

RB – Jay Watkins, Perry, Jr.

RB – A.J. Moses, Spalding, Sr.

WR – Storm Walker, West Laurens, Sr.

WR – Roger Akins, Mary Persons, Sr.

WR – Kenny Richardson, Upson-Lee, Jr.

OL – Zach Hobbs, Mary Persons, Sr.

OL – Chase Duncan, Upson-Lee, Sr.

OL – Joey Knight, West Laurens, Sr.

OL – Noah Davis, Mary Persons, So.

OL – Trace Creamer, Perry, Jr.

ATH – Avery Vining, Howard, Sr.

PK – Rich Stewart, Upson-Lee, Sr.

Second-team defense

DL – John Acosta, Spalding, Sr.

DL – C.J. Barron, Upson-Lee, Sr.

DL – Mataio Elvine, West Laurens, Sr.

DL – Quintavious Morant, Howard, Jr.

LB – Lederrius Williams, West Laurens, Sr.

LB – Kameron Weems, Spalding, Sr.

LB – Lazvier Moore, Upson-Lee, Jr.

LB – Jathaniel Allen, West Laurens, Sr.

DB – Kenny Gates, Spalding, Jr.

DB – Aquavius Tunstall, Upson-Lee, Sr.

DB – Dalon Edge, Mary Persons, Sr.

DB – Sidney Hamm, Spalding, Sr.

Honorable mention: Daymon Thomas, Upson-Lee, So.; Quen Wilson, Mary Persons, So.; Nautica Watson, Spalding, Sr.; Shawn Garrett, Upson-Lee, Sr.; Diamonte Ridley, Perry, Sr.; Drew Meeks, Spalding, Sr.; Alec Rogers, Upson-Lee, Fr.; Derious Williams, Perry, Sr.; Gabe Howard, Howard, Sr.; Mike Smith, Upson-Lee, Sr.; Tyler Knowles, Perry, Jr.; Hayden Jenkins, Spalding, So.; Carl Whitehead, Perry, Sr.; Jamati Harris, Perry, Jr.; Jaqualine Harris, Upson-Lee, So.; Tyrese Haugabrooks, Spalding, So.; Daniel Lavelle, Howard, So.; Jaylin Turnipseed, Spalding, Jr.; Demarquez Carter, Upson-Lee, Jr.; Javon Walker, Perry, Jr.; Keyovione Whitlock, Perry, Jr.; Omar Johnson, Upson-Lee, Sr.; Vic Henderson, Mary Persons, Sr.; M’khai Mack, Howard, Jr.; Keinijus King, Perry, Jr.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter.

View Comments 0