Log In
S. Thomas Coleman

Region 8-AAAAAA coaches make history with first-ever All-Region Track and Field team

Comments 0

For the first time a region in the Georgia High School Association has selected an all-region track and field team.  The coaches in Region 8-AAAAAA put together boys and girls teams that feature the region champion in each event, plus two more athletes voted on by the coaches.

So here is the first ever all-region track and field team, a great idea by the coaches in Region 8-AAAAAA that may catch on in other regions.  Region 8-AAAAAA is made up of the following schools:  Archer, Berkmar, Brookwood, Central Gwinnett, Dacula, Grayson, Parkview, Shiloh and South Gwinnett.  Shiloh was the boys Class AAAAAA state champion.

(Region champion listed first, followed by first and second team member as voted on by coaches)

Runner of the Year:  Jeremy McDuffie, Shiloh (Hurdles, Triple Jump, Relays)
Field Event Athlete of the Year:  John Patterson, Parkview (Throws)
Coach of the Year:  Rob Blaszkiewicz, Shiloh
100 meters:  Travis Collins, Archer; Cedric Asseh, Grayson; Jarvis Mingo, South Gwinnett
200 meters:  Grant Swinton, Shiloh; Elliott Cummings, Central Gwinnett; Demetrius Morgan, Brookwood
400 meters:  Grant Swinton, Shiloh; Patrick Adebamowo, Dacula; Noel Rhymer, Shiloh
800 meters:  Josh Ingalls, Brookwood; Quinn Clarke, Berkmar; Andrae Griffin, Parkview
1,600 meters:  Josh Ingalls, Brookwood; Will Henderson, Parkview; Bryan Kamau, Shiloh
3,200 meters:  Miles Yapp, Brookwood; Nick Schofer, Parkview; Tommy Templeman, Brookwood
110 hurdles:  Jeremy McDuffie, Shiloh; Brandon McPherson, Berkmar; Andrae Griffin, Parkview
300 hurdles:  Christian Smith, Grayson; Rashad Hall, Berkmar; Malik Samsair, Brookwood
High Jump: Bailey Vitatoe, Brookwood; Chris Harmon, Dacula; Brydarious Latimore, Central Gwinnett
Long Jump:  Kartez Hall, Grayson; Jock Evangelister, Dacula; Laronn Veal, Parkview
Triple Jump:  Jeremy McDuffie, Shiloh; Williams Molette, Dacula; Jeremy Lacey, Parkview
Discus:  John Patterson, Parkview; Dozie Ojiagbaje, Berkmar; Sloan Huff, Archer
Pole Vault:  Donald Onyeanula, South Gwinnett; Che Curtis, South Gwinnett; Caleb Merritt, Grayson
Shot Put:  Sam Wright, Archer; Tyree Davis, Dacula; Joey Rutowski, Dacula
400 meter relay:  Shiloh; Grayson A; Grayson B
1,600 meter relay:  Shiloh; Grayson A; Berkmar

Runner of the Year:  Akua Obeng-Akrofi, Archer  (Sprints, Relays)
Field Event Athlete of the Year:  Rachel Sherrill, Dacula (Pole Vault)
Coach of the Year:  John Williams, Archer
100 meters:  Akua Obeng-Akrofi, Archer; Jacquelyn Switzer, Archer; Dominique Brown, Dacula
200 meters:  Akua Obeng-Akrofi, Archer; Caitlyn Tate, Brookwood; Serenity Douglas, Archer
400 meters:  Aliyah Abrams, Grayson; Sydney Davis, Grayson; Ashley Davis, Central Gwinnett
800 meters:  Mackenzie Ellison, Brookwood; Ashton Askew, Brookwood; Jessica Moody, Parkview
1,600 meters:  Laura Boswell, Parkview; Laurel Sumner, Brookwood; Yanely Gomez, Grayson
3,200 meters:  Lauren Flynt, Brookwood; Melody Weiler, Parkview; McKenzie Knudsen, Archer
110 hurdles:  Jirah Simpkins, Berkmar; Sidney Genrich, Parkview; Melyssa Haughton, Brookwood
300 hurdles:  Destinee Davis, South Gwinnett; Mizani Simpson, Berkmar; Chika Motanya, Grayson
High Jump: Jania Williams, Parkview; Muna Okebalama, Archer; Sophia Martin, Parkview
Long Jump:  Jakael Bush, Central Gwinnett; J’nai Owens, Dacula; Geordyn Jenkins, Grayson
Triple Jump:  Jirah Simpkins, Berkmar; Andrea Foster, Brookwood; Camille Bentley, Brookwood
Discus:  Chelsea Igberaese, Dacula; Airian Riddick, Berkmar; Kendall Hardy, Brookwood
Pole Vault:  Rachel Sherrill, Dacula; Kadie Rogers, Parkview; Ayana Daniels, South Gwinnett
Shot Put:  Vickie Harris, Parkview; Laura Allen, Archer; Elizabeth Adesayna, South Gwinnett
400 meter relay:  Brookwood; Archer; Grayson
1,600 meter relay:  Archer; Grayson; Central Gwinnett




Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers